Sunday, 23 November 2014

Book Review: The Perfect Audition by Kate Forster

The Perfect Audition
Digital download exclusive story: discover brand new starlet, Kate Forster, ahead of her debut novel The Perfect Location.

Three women play their part in the glitter-soaked circus that is Hollywood: Calypso, the naïve innocent; Sapphira, the ambitious action-star, and Rose, an older icon, recovering from a divorce with a celebrity Playboy.

Follow these women as they audition for a Hollywood epic that will lead them to discover the bewitching world of love, fame and scandal and just what it takes to live happily ever after when you are a star.

Since reading Kate's The Perfect Christmas I've been hooked with her work and the characters in the books.

I've now completed her short story The Perfect Audition and now moving on to her novel The Perfect Location, which so far has been brilliant.

I really enjoyed The Perfect Audition, I love how easy the story was to read and how you could connect with the characters. All the characters are likeable and you just want to keep reading to see how the story is going to develop.

I can't believe I've never read any of Kate's books before, because they are absolutely fabulous and if you haven't read any of her books before I couldn't recommend reading them enough.........

My Rating:5Stars!

Book Review: The Perfect Christmas by Kate Forster

A holiday short story that proves that true love is forever, not just for Christmas…

Hollywood movie star Maggie and friend and manager Zoe need an escape from their complicated star-studded lives in LA. With its history and Christmas charm, London feels like the perfect getaway.

But can they truly leave their realities behind?

In their luxurious quarters, the girls meet Holly who is ideal at showing Maggie and Zoe the sumptuous sights and sounds of London in their most glittering light. But behind her bright façade, Holly is hiding a secret: suffering from unrequited love, she’s looking for a Christmas miracle. Desperate to see an unattainable love story for Holly come together, will our LA starlets succeed in providing a Hollywood ending before the dawn of Christmas Day?
Packed to the brim with festive cheer, this is the only story you’ll need this Christmas…

I'm not normally a fan of short stories, but I enjoyed reading The Perfect Christmas in one sitting. It was a real festive treat. 

I really like it when authors include an extract from their next novel, I find it gives us readers something to look forward too. I always pre-order as it gives me something to look forward too. I'm now rather excited and eagerly waiting the arrival of Picture Perfect next year.

This is the first of Kate's work Iv read and I really enjoyed it. I've now downloaded her other books. I loved the settings of the story, you can't beat London at Christmas. 

I'd thoroughly recommend Kate's book to my friends and family, absolutely brilliant and entertaining. Roll on April 2015............

My Rating: 5stars!

Book Review: Married By Midnight: A Christmas Story by Talli Roland

Christmas is coming . . . and so is the biggest day of Kate's life.

While choosing a vintage dress for her Christmas Eve wedding, Kate finds a cryptic note pinned to the inside of a 1930s gown. As doubts about her own ceremony loom, Kate is determined to track down the dress' owner and determine what became of her - and the marriage.

Will Kate find the answers she's seeking to propel her down the aisle, or will her discovery prompt her to call off the wedding for good?
I always get excited when I see Talli has released a new book- especially when I see its a Christmas one.

I was very lucky as Talli gave me a copy of her new novella to review, but I have since now purchased it too, as I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I discovered Talli's fantastic books when I first brought my kindle- after I read her novel The Hating Game I was hooked and have since read all her other novels and novellas. As soon as hear she's releasing a new book, I preorder as soon as its available.

I really enjoyed Married by Midnight. I loved Kate and her passion for finding the truth. I liked how Bea was completely different to Kate- they had different views on life.

I read the novella in one sitting, I was completely hooked after the first chapter. On the whole I don't tend to read short stories, as I always wish for more! But every year I always read Talli's and love them!

I would recommend Talli's new novella to my friends and family as she truly is an amazing author......

My Rating: 5Stars!

Book Review: The Great Christmas Knit Off by Alexandra Brown

The perfect seasonal tale of how laughter, friends and wacky Christmas jumpers can mend a broken heart. For fans of Trisha Ashley and Jenny Colgan.

Heartbroken after being jilted at the altar, Sybil has been saved from despair by her knitting obsession and now her home is filled to bursting with tea cosies, bobble hats, and jumpers. But, after discovering that she may have perpetrated the cock-up of the century at work, Sybil decides to make a hasty exit and, just weeks before Christmas, runs away to the picturesque village of Tindledale.

There, Sybil discovers Hettie’s House of Haberdashery, an emporium dedicated to the world of knitting and needle craft. But Hettie, the outspoken octogenarian owner, is struggling and now the shop is due for closure. And when Hettie decides that Sybil’s wonderfully wacky Christmas jumpers are just the thing to add a bit of excitement to her window display, something miraculous starts to happen…

Alexandra Brown is one of those authors, whose books you wait for with great anticipation. Since reading Cupcakes at Carringtons and falling in love with Alexandra's writing style- I've always pre-ordered so I get it as soon as it's released.

I was really excited about receiving The Great Christmas Knit Off, that as soon as the book had arrived in the post- I snuggled up to read it and I wasn't disappointed- luckily for me the release date fell on the first day of my weeks holiday from work, not planned at all.

From the end of chapter one, Alexandra had me smiling. Sybil is a really likeable character- she's one of those characters, where you wish you had someone like that in real life. I love the fact Sybil's dog is called Basil and the dog on the front cover is just adorable. I adore Sybil's character, just as much as I do Georgie Hart- from the Carringtons series. I don't know what or how Alexandra does it, but she has this way of making the reader connect with the characters like no other author I've read before.

I've read a lot of books this year, but by far this has been one of the best. Whenever I pick up an Alexandra Brown book, I always get a lot of enjoyment from her writing and always sad when I have to pause to do some chores or I've come to the end.

I would very much recommend The Great Christmas Knit Off to you and if you haven't already read them, her Carringtons series. Alexandra is a brilliant author, who provides you with hours of entertainment and pure contentment. I now wait with great anticipation for the second instalment- fingers crossed it's not to long........

My Rating: 5stars!