Sunday, 23 November 2014

Book Review: The Great Christmas Knit Off by Alexandra Brown

The perfect seasonal tale of how laughter, friends and wacky Christmas jumpers can mend a broken heart. For fans of Trisha Ashley and Jenny Colgan.

Heartbroken after being jilted at the altar, Sybil has been saved from despair by her knitting obsession and now her home is filled to bursting with tea cosies, bobble hats, and jumpers. But, after discovering that she may have perpetrated the cock-up of the century at work, Sybil decides to make a hasty exit and, just weeks before Christmas, runs away to the picturesque village of Tindledale.

There, Sybil discovers Hettie’s House of Haberdashery, an emporium dedicated to the world of knitting and needle craft. But Hettie, the outspoken octogenarian owner, is struggling and now the shop is due for closure. And when Hettie decides that Sybil’s wonderfully wacky Christmas jumpers are just the thing to add a bit of excitement to her window display, something miraculous starts to happen…

Alexandra Brown is one of those authors, whose books you wait for with great anticipation. Since reading Cupcakes at Carringtons and falling in love with Alexandra's writing style- I've always pre-ordered so I get it as soon as it's released.

I was really excited about receiving The Great Christmas Knit Off, that as soon as the book had arrived in the post- I snuggled up to read it and I wasn't disappointed- luckily for me the release date fell on the first day of my weeks holiday from work, not planned at all.

From the end of chapter one, Alexandra had me smiling. Sybil is a really likeable character- she's one of those characters, where you wish you had someone like that in real life. I love the fact Sybil's dog is called Basil and the dog on the front cover is just adorable. I adore Sybil's character, just as much as I do Georgie Hart- from the Carringtons series. I don't know what or how Alexandra does it, but she has this way of making the reader connect with the characters like no other author I've read before.

I've read a lot of books this year, but by far this has been one of the best. Whenever I pick up an Alexandra Brown book, I always get a lot of enjoyment from her writing and always sad when I have to pause to do some chores or I've come to the end.

I would very much recommend The Great Christmas Knit Off to you and if you haven't already read them, her Carringtons series. Alexandra is a brilliant author, who provides you with hours of entertainment and pure contentment. I now wait with great anticipation for the second instalment- fingers crossed it's not to long........

My Rating: 5stars!

No comments:

Post a Comment